Category Archives: Water

CUMBERLAND CHAPTER Sierra Club Legislative Update

Bills currently being tracked by the Kentucky Sierra Club in the General Assembly: 1. Bluegrass Pipeline- Eminent Domain SB14 limits eminent domain to utilities regulated by the Public Service Commission. This bill would prohibit Bluegrass Pipeline Partners from using eminent … Continue reading

Posted in Air, Coal, Efficiency, Energy, InTheNews, Legislation, Mining, Natural Gas, Nuclear, Public Lands, Renewable Energy, Water | Leave a comment

Healthy Foods Local Farms Event

Register Now! Key Note:    * BARTON SEAVER,         Harvard School of Public Health Other Speakers:    * WENONAH HAUTER           Food & Water Watch    * DR. MICHELE MOREK, UNANIMA;         … Continue reading

Posted in Agriculture, Air, CAFOs, Energy, Events, Health, Healthy Foods, InTheNews, Local Farms, Water | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

New Report Highlights Extent of Coal Plant Water Pollution

Press Release: Tuesday, July 23, 2013 Contact: Clean Water Action: Jon Scott, jscott@cleanwater.org, 202-330-2379 Earthjustice: Jared Saylor, jsaylor@earthjustice.org, 202-745-5213 Environmental Integrity Project: Patrick Mitchell, pmitchell@hastingsgroup.com, 703-276-3266 Sierra Club: Eitan Bencuya, eitan.bencuya@sierraclub.org, 415-255-5521 Waterkeeper Alliance: Donna Lisenby, lisenby.donna@gmail.com, 704-277-6055 WASHINGTON, DC — A … Continue reading

Posted in Coal, InTheNews, Mountain Top Removal, Uncategorized, Waste, Water | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

Press Release: Communities Locked to Dirty Water

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: April 15, 2012 Contact: Appalachia Rising Teri Blanton, (859) 582-0312, teri.blanton@kftc.org, Alex DeSha, (606) 210-0761, alex.desha@sierraclub.org Website: http://www.AppalachiaRising.org COMMUNITIES LOCKED TO DIRTY WATER The EPA Holds the Key to Clean, Healthy Water for Communities in TN, WV, … Continue reading

Posted in Coal, InTheNews, Mountain Top Removal, Surface Mining, Water | Leave a comment