Category Archives: Mountain Top Removal

Legislative Actions: Environment, Energy on Our Agenda

by Ruth Bamberger, Legislative Committee Chair Cumberland Chapter, Sierra Club The Kentucky General Assembly officially opened January 6th with the swearing in of all 100 Representatives and 37 Senators. The Democrats have a 54-46 edge in the House and the … Continue reading

Posted in Coal, Efficiency, Endangered Species, Energy, InTheNews, Legislation, Mining, Mountain Top Removal, Natural Gas, Nuclear, Politics, Renewable Energy, Surface Mining | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

NEWS: Federal Court Orders EPA to Move Ahead on Coal Ash Regs

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 3, 2013 Contact: Jennifer Duggan, Environmental Integrity Project (802) 225-6774 Jared Saylor, Earthjustice (202) 236-5855 Sean Sarah, Sierra Club (202) 548-4589 Federal Court Orders EPA to Move Forward on Coal Ash Regulations Judge to offer more details in the … Continue reading

Posted in Air, Coal, Energy, Health, InTheNews, Mining, Mountain Top Removal, Surface Mining | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

New Report Highlights Extent of Coal Plant Water Pollution

Press Release: Tuesday, July 23, 2013 Contact: Clean Water Action: Jon Scott, jscott@cleanwater.org, 202-330-2379 Earthjustice: Jared Saylor, jsaylor@earthjustice.org, 202-745-5213 Environmental Integrity Project: Patrick Mitchell, pmitchell@hastingsgroup.com, 703-276-3266 Sierra Club: Eitan Bencuya, eitan.bencuya@sierraclub.org, 415-255-5521 Waterkeeper Alliance: Donna Lisenby, lisenby.donna@gmail.com, 704-277-6055 WASHINGTON, DC — A … Continue reading

Posted in Coal, InTheNews, Mountain Top Removal, Uncategorized, Waste, Water | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

Press Release: Sierra Club Cumberland Chapter Statement on President Obama’s Climate Plan

News Release For Immediate Release –June 25, 2013 Contact: Lane Boldman, Publicity Chair, Ky Sierra Club:     859-552-1173 Sherry Otto, State Coordinator, Kentucky Sierra Club:  sherry.otto@sierraclub.org Thomas Pearce, Ky Beyond Coal Organizer, Sierra Club: 502-614-7114 Sierra Club Cumberland Chapter Statement … Continue reading

Posted in Air, Climate Change, Energy, InTheNews, Mountain Top Removal, Politics | Leave a comment